My Face Makes Me A Bitch. Apparently.

image

Don’t worry, this is neither a post about how 1} I think I’m so pretty or 2} my lack of confidence in my looks.

Seriously, peeps, can you not see my nose from there? It’s HUGE.  I have heard every insincere comment possible. The nicest one tho {unbelievably} is “you have uncle Bob’s nose!”.  Yep, that’s right, he’s from the Jewish side of my family.  And, I can assure you that I don’t have his nose because he has his own nose and it’s much BIGGER than mine.

My lack of confidence is zero. Zilch. Minus freezing point.  I have mastered that profile photos taken from my left side appear to conceal the slight hook I have in my nose.

You see? Total acceptance.

Anyway, I have totally digressed from this post.  I am talking about my face.  As in how I ‘look’ at people.  Which I didn’t think I had a problem with until it was pointed out to me recently.

I was was having a well earned  catch up with a friend,  drinking a glass of vino, when I discreetly pointed out a woman at the bar who looked miserable, despite having a beverage in her hand and being in a group of friends {I presumed}.  Belle, who I had pointed this out to replied “That’s what you look like, maybe she’s the same”

Me “Huh?”

Belle  “You know, that condition that’s going around”

Me “Huh? Again?”

Now, Belle, who is 10 years younger than me and has no filter, decided to tell me that she thought I was miserable when she first met me and proceeded to diagnosis me with Bitchy Resting Face.

Really? I thought to myself, I am totes the bestest fun.

Confidence boost much, anyone?!

I would totes be B.F.F’s with myself.  If I physically could.

The following day, as promised, Belle emailed me this link  from You Tube, explaining Bitchy Resting Face.

And it’s me.

image

I am that person who walks down the street and gets gestured at by a stranger to smile or told “it’s not the end of the world”.

But I just don’t get it. It’s usually me that, out of my own choosing, speak to people. I’ll say Morning, Hello, Afternoon as I walk past.  I know it’s not in depth conversation but it’s a prompting word which usually gets a response.  So my conclusion is that I can’t have too much of a Bitchy Resting Face. Mr 29’s conclusion as to why I get a response is that those I’m acknowledging are just surprised somebody with a miserable face is being cheerful!

Meh!

Please tell me I’m not alone- do any of you have a Bitchy Resting Face?!

Vx

Pictures Via Pinterset

2 thoughts on “My Face Makes Me A Bitch. Apparently.

  1. I’ve never heard of this before!! My God, I need someone to take a snap of me so I can check if I have it. I’m always amazed by people who have a natural resting face where their mouth is open. How can you sit around with your mouth wide open??!!

Leave a Reply

