Sticks and Stones

I remember from a very young age hearing the saying “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”.  I believe it was one of the dinner ladies, during lunch time play, in our West Brompton playground, back in the early eighties.

image

I also remember the rhyme “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”.   I was led to believe this was true.  As an orthopaedic trained nurse I can tell you that it takes more than sticks and stones to cause a fracture.

image

Sometimes, it feels as though I am back in that playground with spiteful, horrible people who insist on saying cruel and hurtful things.  Carry on.  If it makes you feel better.

image

Vx

pictures via Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Sticks and Stones

Leave a Reply

