Vanish Review

20130612-191037.jpg

Vanish has been re-vamped. You may have noticed that the recent adverts on the telle no longer contain an overly excited woman in a pink jumpsuit telling everyone to ‘trust pink’. Instead, they have been replaced with helpful ‘how to remove ………’ examples.

I was totes excited to be asked to review this product. Why?

Well

1} I live in a house with 3 boys {allegedly the eldest is 41 years old} and they get dirty ALL the time,

and

2} I HAVE to wash every day, otherwise the laundry bin is filled to the brim. And then I’ll panic. And get sweaty. Not a good look.

Despite washing EVERYDAY, I probably only do 1-2 white loads a week. I put this down to the boys wearing mainly dark or coloured clothes. This probably isn’t helpful when these items get stained, thrown in the laundry bin and left for a week. This, you would think would not be helpful for stain removal.

I have noted from this review that Mr 29 and the Things shoud not wear white, or eat and drink whilst not a wearing a bib. You will see why.

Regular readers will know that I’m a tea drinker. And that I’m a lady *ahem*. However, Mr 29 is a coffee drinker, and clearly a walking mess. Therefore coffee stains are inevitable with him.

20130612-124129.jpg

Mr 29 has beautifully demonstratated his amazing dribbling capabilities whilst drinking coffee in the above photo. However, removing coffee stains is simple. Having made a up a paste up from the ‘pink’ Vanish Oxi Action Fabric Stain Remover, I applied it to the stain, left it for 10 minutes and then put it into a normal white wash with a scoop of Vanish Oxi Action crystal white, the evidence is apparent. The coffee stain has simply vanished.

20130612-124357.jpg

Mr 29 has very kindly passed on his dribbling whilst drinking skill to Thing 2. This coke stain on the right hand side occured on Saturday night whilst out for dinner.

20130612-191232.jpg

The shirt stayed in the laundry pile for five days until I washed it. Again, I applied the above sequence and voila. Magic, the stain has vanished.

20130612-191349.jpg

Next up for the challenge was Thing 1’s school polo shirt. It had a pink stain over it. He had no idea what it was or how it got there. We went through the list of potential suspects drinks, paint, pens etc, but “I don’t know” was the constant reply.

20130613-174828.jpg
I decided that I would soak this shirt, for an hour in Vanish Oxi Action Fabric Stain Remover, wash as usual, but I added a scoop of the Crystal White stain remover to the wash.  The unidentified stain has vanished.

20130613-191003.jpg

Ironically, both Thing 1 and I suffer from nose bleeds. However we did not have one during this review. Not one single drop of blood was lost, and therefore I will be interested to know if Vanish can tackle blood stains.  From what I have seen, it is looking promising!

Vx

Disclosure: I was sent Vanish Oxi Action Fabric Stain Remover and Vanish Oxi Action Crystal White Fabric Stain Remover. My experiences are recounted as they happened.

Leave a Reply

