He is 12…..

Thing 1 is 12 today.  Eeekkkk. How the hell did THAT happen?

It seems like only yesterday, he was born. 4 weeks early.  I had been watching ‘This Morning’ with Richard and Judy, and just the week before, Dr  Chris had stated that first time babies are rarely early.  I had no birth plan written and hadn’t even read the labour chapter in my pregnancy guide. I had, however thought about every pain relief possible, and wanted the baby to be handed to Mr 29 for the first hold.

Mr 29 had checked his car into the garage and went to work.  I stayed in bed when he left, playing ‘snake’ on my Nokia brick phone.  I felt a little bit uncomfortable but presumed I was having ‘braxton hicks’.

My friend telephoned me to ask how I was and I told her my tummy was hard, she advised me to ring the hospital. So I did, and they asked me to come in. I rung Mr 29 and waited for him to get a lift home from work. Mr 29 was disgusted that he had to drive my car, which still remains my favourite car ever- a bright yellow punto. Mr 29 was to replace this with a new BMW 330 in the coming months, muttering something about a safer car now that I was driving our baby around!

We went up to the hospital to get checked out- convinced nothing important was happening I didn’t take my prepared hospital bag.

He was born within 2 hours of arriving, I took 2 paracetamol, and gave 2 big pushes. Despite not reading the labour chapter, I was NOT expecting this either!

It seems like only yesterday I held him in my arms for the first time.

It feels like only yesterday, at 6 weeks old, that our GP informed us he had a heart murmur {this was to be benign, and by 12 months old could not be heard}.

It feels like only yesterday that at 12 weeks old he had a general anaesthetic to repair his inguinal hernia.

It feels like only yesterday at 4 and a half months, he cut his first tooth.

It feels like only yesterday at 7 months he crawled- he never bum shuffled.

It feels like only yesterday at 13 months old, he took his first steps.

20130602-115748.jpg

Happy Birthday, Son. I love you.

Vx

Leave a Reply

