American Style Pancakes

In the 29 year old household, we alternate our weekend breakfasts with pancakes or a cooked version {either a bacon/ sausage/egg rolls or a classic English breakfast, with all the works}.

I LOVE pancakes, and every pancake day pay homeage to a filling I had in ‘My Old Dutch’, a creperie in Chelsea, my Ma took me when I was younger- Ice cream, bannana and syrup. YUM Bubble Gum. I have a VERY sweet tooth.

This is our every alternate week pancake staple recipe- courtesy to the rather yummy Nigella.

Ingredients

  • I tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 2 large {beaten} eggs
  • 30 grams of butter {melted and cooled}
  • 300ml milk
  • 225 grams plain flour
  • Butter for frying {I use olive oil}
  1. Put all of the ingredients into a blender and blitz for approx 2-3 minutes.
  2. Heat the frying pan.  Now this is where I cheat.  I use 2 frying pans. A smaller one measuring 5 cm {I use this to assume the pancake shape} and a larger standard size pan {which I use when I cook the other side of the shaped pancake!}
  3. When frying the batter, once the upperside of the pancake is bubbling, this generally means it is cooked and can be flipped over. This is when I move it to the larger pan, and cook it for about a minute.
  4. I get between 12 and 16 pancakes, depending on the thickness of the pancakes. Choose your toppings and eat.

20130428-162751.jpg

One thought on “American Style Pancakes

Leave a Reply

