Tomato sauce {for pasta and pizza and meatballs}

I have made this sauce for many years, going back to when Thing 2 was still small, but I can’t remeber where I got the recipe from.  It was probably Jamie or Nigella {since they’re my 2 favourite ‘telly’ cooks!} but I unfortunately left many of my cookery books in Oz.

I make this and use this sauce A LOT.  It can be kept in the fridge in an air tight container for up to a week and can also be frozen.  We use it with homemade meatballs, and as a base for pizza.  And when I’m really lazy, just simply with pasta.

Olive oil

3 tins of whole tomatoes ‘good quality’ (either branded tins or finest ones in the supermarket- normal supermarket tins, as I have discovered, can make this quite watery}

4 garlic cloves

Fresh Basil (approx 4-5 leaves) and cut into slices

1)  Warm olive oil in a pan and add the garlic, allow the garlic to colour but do not let it burn!

2)  Add tomatoes and basil.

3) Use the back of a wooden spoon to squeeze the juice out of the tomatoes.

4) when it comes to the boil, remove from heat.

5) use a straining sieve and pour the tomatoes.  Use the spoon to capture the sauce on the under side of the sieve. Discard the pulp in the sieve.

6) Return the sauce to the pan and season with salt and pepper.

7) ready to serve 0r cool to store as advised above.

Leave a Reply

